The Arkansas Colleges of Health Education is a not-for-profit corporation registered with the Arkansas Secretary of State and approved by the Internal Revenue Service as an institution of higher learning in Fort Smith, Arkansas.

The Arkansas Colleges of Health Education has been granted certification to offer the following degree programs by the Arkansas Higher Education Coordinating Board:  Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine, Master of Science in Biomedicine, Doctor of Physical Therapy, and Doctor of Occupational Therapy.

Arkansas Higher Education Coordinating Board certification does not constitute an endorsement of any institution or program. Such certification merely indicates that certain criteria have been met as required under the rules and regulations implementing institutional and program certification as defined in A.C.A. §6-61-301.

The Arkansas Colleges of Health Education has been granted Candidate Status for Accreditation with the Higher Learning Commission.

The Higher Learning Commission is a regional accreditation agency recognized by the U. S. Department of Education. Questions concerning this status may be addressed to:

The Higher Learning Commission
230 South LaSalle Street, Suite 7-500
Chicago, IL 60604-1411

The American Osteopathic Association (AOA) and the Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (COCA) provides accrediting standards that require systematic review of the osteopathic medical education program. ARCOM was granted Pre-Accreditation (formerly called provisional accreditation) by COCA effective July 1, 2016.

142 East Ontario Street
Chicago, IL 60611-2864
Telephone: 888.626.9262

Pre-Accreditation is the highest accreditation a college of osteopathic medicine can achieve prior to graduating its first class.

Degrees Leading to Professional Licensure

The Arkansas Colleges of Health Education offers degrees on its campus in Fort Smith, Arkansas that may involve clinical rotations in other states.  Each of these Degrees meets program requirements established by national accrediting agencies and is designed to meet graduate educational requirements for licensure in every state.  Graduates of these accredited programs are eligible to take the national licensure examinations for their respective field or specific examinations as required by each state.

Each professional licensing board in every state is autonomous and establishes and governs the standards a program or a graduate must meet to earn a license or certification in a professional field. States also may have other licensure requirements beyond the professional examination including, but not limited to background and drug tests, internships, or other standards.

The Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine (DO) degree program is accredited by the Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation of the American Osteopathic Association.  Graduates of this program at the Arkansas College of Osteopathic Medicine are eligible to take the Comprehensive Osteopathic Medical Licensing Exam (COMLEX-USA) series of examinations leading to licensure.  Specific state requirements may be found at: